The extent of our advent celebration before today.

Oh thank goodness this was lesson 1.  There is a fantastic blog I follow that recently discussed advent, and I remembered it was something I wanted to do last year.  But I didn’t.  I don’t know why, probably finding the wreath, actually putting a tradition in place, staying up on the progression of advent through Christmas.

But when I saw this as the lesson, I checked myself.  And promptly sent an email to some of my best friends saying, “We’re making advent wreaths around here today, come and join us if you can!”

So my sweet friend Morgan and her daughter came over and we got to work.  And actually made our own advent wreaths.

*Morgan frugally made hers with items she already had around her house.  And it came out beautiful, and it was just her style.  I went to Hobby Lobby, spent too much money, and also made an advent set-up I’m happy with.  So, proof that you can cater this to your style.  My style isn’t usually go-spend-too-much-money-at-Hobby-Lobby, but let’s not dwell on that…

The "raw" materials.

The holder I found. No, it's not a wreath, but I liked how the candles progressively get higher until reaching the spot that we will light to celebrate Christ's birth.

Finished!

*Note Morgan’s pretty silver tray holding her advent-candle-display in the bottom picture.

