There is a certain lens that I have been drooling over for awhile now.

It’s nothing out of the ordinary.  I think most photographers who do portraits have this lens and probably use it at least 80% of the time.

But it is greatness.

You see, I’m kind of … conservative with my spending.  I absolutely do not like to pay full price for something.  I want a coupon or a sale or something. Full price is hard for me to swallow.  And even sale price is hard for me to swallow sometimes.

So I’ve used this lens twice now, borrowed.  And each time I locked it onto my camera and took a picture, it was love.  The crispness.  The outside softness.  The bokeh.  The light.  All beautiful.  I would immediately think, “I need this lens.”  And then some time would go by and I would think, “I can’t shell out that kind of money. I just can’t.”  And then I would use the lens again.  “This lens is awesome.” And so goes the cycle.

Well, I did it.  I bought it.  And I can’t wait for it to arrive.

The 50mm 1.4.  Pure beauty.

*If you’re a photographer reading this, you’re probably thinking, “Expensive?!  Yeah, right!  Have you shopped lenses?!?!?!”  Because this lens isn’t really that expensive for a lens.  It’s quite “Affordable”.  That should give you a good idea of how much I hate parting with my money.  But, it’s a great value. There is a word I love.

