Read this article. And be afraid.

Actually, you have nothing to fear if you’re not trying to start a photography business.

But if you are (hi, I’m Erika), then go ahead and get a sick feeling in your stomach.

Because while you thought there would be people judging you and scrutinizing you and getting territorial and judge-y (did I say judging yet?) and perhaps not making but thinking snide comments, you didn’t know there was a TERM for it and boards with discussions and all that.

Deeeeep breath.

I’m not going to let this deter me.  I’ll tell you that right now.  Maybe I got the sick feeling and started thinking maybe I wasn’t good enough and maybe I should just throw in the towel because somehow I’m not a seasoned pro and couple that with my status as a mother and look what I must be: a MWAC and the industry hates me.

Well guess what I am now: a MWAC that is mad. A MMWAC.  🙂

You’re right.  I am a mom.  I am that FIRST.  And I have a camera.  It’s not entry level, but I didn’t pay 5 grand for it.  I use other lenses, but I don’t have an arsenal.

But you know what I’m doing?  I’m increasing my knowledge every day.  With every shoot.  With every book I read and every practice shot I take.

And you know what you’re not going to do?  Take away my credibility or my desire to create or my aspirations because I have a son (who, by the way, is worth more to me than a photography business… which “the industry” wouldn’t understand unless by definition they too were MWACS).

I’m not here to contribute to an over-saturated market.  I’m not here to steal anyone’s clientele by what I call “Wal-Marting” them.  If I’m running a cheaper price or a better deal it’s because I’m getting established.  If I’m a poor photographer, guess what, I’ll be out of business in just a little bit, regardless of how great my pricing is.

But don’t call me a MWAC because it takes away from not only what I’m pursuing here as a photographer (do you realize the guts it takes to follow a dream and put things you have created out for all to scrutinize?), but most importantly it diminishes my role as a mother.  That isn’t going to happen.

The benefit of being a "Mom with a Camera"? Having the sweetest helper a photographer could ask for.

